Test Pattern and Score Calculation

The IELTS test has four parts – listening, reading, writing and speaking. Candidates must do all four parts to receive an IELTS result. The total IELTS test time is 2 hours and 45 minutes.

Module Sections Duration
Listening 4 sections, 40 items 30 minutes
Reading 3 sections, 40 items 60 minutes
Writing 2 tasks 60 minutes
Speaking 3 part one-on-one conversation 11-14 minutes

IELTS is available in two test formats: Academic or General Training

Academic – Institutions of Higher and Further Education The Academic format is, broadly speaking, for those who want to study or train in an English-speaking university or Institutions of Higher and Further Education. Admission to undergraduate and postgraduate courses is based on the results of the Academic IELTS test. General Training – for school, work or migration The IELTS General Training format focuses on basic survival skills in broad social and workplace contexts. It is typically for those who are going to English-speaking countries to do secondary education, work experience or training programs. People migrating to Australia, Canada and New Zealand must sit for the General IELTS Training Test.

Is there any difference between Academic and General Versions?

All candidates take the same Listening and Speaking modules but different Reading and writing modules.

Can I take the test in one day?

No. Listening, Reading and Writing must be completed in one day. The speaking test may be offered on the same day or up to a week before or after the other parts.

Copyright © Manhattan Review. All rights reserved.