IELTS is accepted by educational institutions, employers, professional registration bodies and government immigration agencies, which often require proof of English language skills as part of their recruitment or admission process.

IELTS test four communication skills: Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. There are two different modules of the IELTS exam: General module, which is opted by candidates who wish to migrate to English speaking countries, and Academic module, which is opted by candidates who wish to study undergraduate or postgraduate levels.

Test Format

Listening 40 questions 30 minutes + transfer time 1-9
Reading 40 questions 60 minutes 1-9
Writing 2 Tasks 60 minutes 1-9
Speaking 3 Parts 11-14 minutes 1-9

Results from the four parts then produce an overall score, which ranges from 1-9 band. All parts of the test and the overall band score can be reported in whole and half bands, e.g. 8.0, 8.5, 9.0.

The IELTS test is jointly owned by three organisations known as the IELTS test partners. Alongside IDP: IELTS Australia are fellow co-owners, the British Council and Cambridge English Language Assessment.

Official Website (British Council):

Official Website (IDP):

The registration fees for IETLS is 12,100 INR

Acceptable ID: Passport
is a registered trademark of CKS EDVANTAGE EDUCATION PVT LTD
Copyright © Manhattan Review. All rights reserved.